The best of 2022

Winners announced

Designs with the educational impact.
Design Educates Awards (DEAwards) recognize, showcase, and promote globally the best educational ideas and implementations of architecture and design. Each year, the esteemed panel of judges selects outstanding ideas and implementations in the categories of architectural design, product design, universal design, and responsive design.
Many architectures and design awards recognize and promote the “beauty” of successful design. But the Design Educates Awards goes one step further. We do not just want to see aesthetically and technically pleasing designs—we want something that offers true added value. 

The ‘Design Educates Awards’ are open to everyone. To join the Awards, please proceed to the User Panel. For more information about current edition, please check Details and Guidelines. Here you can find the winners announcement press-kit. 

Jury 2022

(c)fujitsuka Mitsumasa 1

Prof. Toyo Itō


architect, founder of Toyo Ito & Associates, Honorary Fellowship of AIA, RIBA Commissioner of Kumamoto Artpolis, laureate of the Pritzker Architecture Prize

Jette Cathrin Hopp ©mkunze

Jette Cathrin Hopp


architect, director of acquisition & business development Europe Snøhetta

Winy Maas Cofounder Mvrdv 01 (c)daria Scagliola

Prof. Winy Maas


architect, founding partner and principal architect of MVRDV

Julie Payette 2020 Hr (3) (1)

Julie Payette


publicist, founding partner of v2com newswire

Jakob Lange Pr 2019

Jakob Lange


architect, partner at BIG (Bjarke Ingels Group) and Head of the BIG Ideas

469220282 1280x720

Prof. Alan Pert


director of University of Melbourne School of Design, Australia


Doris Kim Sung


architect, founder of DOSU Studio Architecture, director of Undergraduate Programs at USC

Claudiapasquero Fot Naaro 07

Prof. Claudia Pasquero


architect, researcher, lecturer, cofounder of ecoLogicStudio

Gardner Mark Abosch2000

Prof. Mark L. Gardner


architect, Principal at Jaklitsch / Gardner Architects (J/GA), Assistant Professor Parsons the New School

Screen Shot 2021 08 05 At 11.47.32 Am (1)

Prof. Ranjana Dani


designer, MIT Institute of Design, Graphic Design Dep, India


Prof. Masayo Ave


industrial designer, educator, founder of MasayoAve creation

David Basulto Jury Dtea 2019 (1) Photo Matti Ostling Arkdes

David Basulto


founder, CEO, and editor-in-chief of ArchDaily

Maria Aiolova Jury Dtea 2019 (1)

Maria Aiolova


designer, global principal at AECOM and co-founder of Terreform ONE

Aidin Ardjomandi Jury Dtea 2020 (1)

Aidin Ardjomandi


industrial designer, manager of events in Istituto di Moda Burgo Qatar, founder of Ardjou Design Studio

Peter Kuczia Dtea21

Dr. Peter Kuczia


architect, founder of Kuczia Architects, initiator of the ‘Design Educates Awards’


Strategic Partners

Media Sponsors

International Newswire Partner

Media Partners

Media Supporters