The Design that Educates Awards (DtEA) recognize, showcase, and promote globally the best ideas and implementations of architecture and design that can educate. The design itself may provide an informative and educational layer that guides us through the increasing complexity of our environment. It can showcase specific possibilities and challenges, explain sociocultural factors and influences, or even outline new scenarios for future development. Each year, the esteemed panel of judges selects the outstanding ideas and implementations in the categories of architectural design, product design, universal design, and responsive design.

Download brief (PDF)Press (ZIP)Gallery of projects
02 Special Recognition Airship Series (1)


The awards are a multidisciplinary call for ideas and implementations in the categories of (1) architectural design,(2) product design, (3) universal design, and (4) responsive design. Deliberation about the entries will consist of two phases: (1) selection of the finalists and (2) selection of winners and laureates of honorable mentions. Entries will be evaluated based on the following criteria: feasible, verifiable, visionary, original, and comprehensive. The theme of the awards has been inspired by the research called ‘Educating Buildings’ (‘Bildende Bauten’) by Dr. Peter Kuczia.

Registration opens in June 2019
Early registration: until August 1, 2019
Regular registration: until November 1, 2019
Late registration: until February 4, 2020 (extended)
Project submission deadline: February 5, 2020 (extended)
Jury deliberation: February 2020
Announcement of winners: March 1, 2020
Awards ceremony: April 23–24, 2020
UTC time zone for all dates.

Register for the awardsGuidelinesSubmit your designPress (zip)
03 Special Recognition Ecocapsule (2)


Mikala Samsoe Jury A1

Prof. Mikala Holme Samsøe
(architect, urban planner, lecturer, founder of Samsøe og)

Ben Van Berkel Photo Jury A2

Prof. Ben van Berkel
(founder of UNStudio & UNSense, Kenzo Tange Visiting Professor at Harvard University’s GSD)

Holzerkobler 050 108©sven Bänziger

Prof. Barbara Holzer
(architect, lecturer, cofounder and director of Holzer Kobler Architekturen)

Peter Kuczia Photo Jury A5

Dr. Peter Kuczia
(architect, founder of Kuczia Architects, initiator of the ‘Design that Educates Awards’)

Martin Bechthold Photo Jury A4

Dr. Martin Bechthold
(architect, professor at Harvard University Graduate School of Design (GSD))

Areti Markopoulou Photo Jury 2

Areti Markopoulou
(architect, researcher, urban technologist, academic director at IAAC in Barcelona)

Stefan Behnish Photo Jury A6

Stefan Behnisch
(architect, philosopher, founding partner of Behnisch Architekten)

Christoph Richter Photo Jury A8

Christoph Richter
(architect, cofounder of Richter Musikowski Architekten PartGmbB)

Arturo Vittori Photo Jury 2

Arturo Vittori
(designer, architect, artist, cofounder of Architecture and Vision, CEO of Warka Water Inc.)

Yussef Agbo Ola Photo3

Yussef Agbo-Ola
(architect, chemist, environmental artist, founder of olaniyi.studio)

Aidin Ardjomandi Photo Jury A7

Aidin Ardjomandi
(industrial designer, manager of events in Istituto di Moda Burgo Qatar, founder of Ardjou Design Studio)

Jan Musikowski Jury Photo A9

Jan Musikowski
(architect, cofounder of Richter Musikowski Architekten PartGmbB)

Shingo Ando Photo Jury 2

Prof. Shingo Ando
(designer, educator, professor at Kyoto Arts and Crafts University)


The winners, laureates of prizes, honorable mentions, and nominations will be selected in each category: (1) architectural design, (2) product design, (3) universal design, and (4) responsive design. In addition to the general evaluation, the student project with the highest score will be awarded with the label of Emerging Designers. Parallel to the jury’s evaluation, representatives of Solarlux will select the laureates of Solarlux Choice. The projects of the winners and laureates of honorable mentions will be exhibited during the ‘Architecture in Foyer 2020’ conference at the Solarlux Campus in Germany on April 23–24, 2020. The laureates will be invited to present their designs during the ceremony. Participants can submit multiple designs in the same category, multiple designs in different categories, or a single design in more than one category, in teams or individually.

More info about the awardsRegister for the ceremony
Architecture In Foyer Images By Solarlux Dtea 2019 Day 02 B


Sponsor of the awards:

Logo En

Official Media Partners:

Archdaily Logo1
Topys Logo4
Wa Logo White2

Media Supporters:

Volume Zero (India), Apsaidal (Spain), Thecompetitionsblog (Canda), Archcompetition (Serbia), Baunetz (Germany), Professionearchitetto (Italy), World Architecture Community (Turkey), Infodesigners (Croatia), Zingy Homes (India), Studiocivitare (Brazil), Bustler (USA), Contest Watchers (Macedonia), WiiN (France), e-architect (UK), Artsparkr (USA), Architime.ru (Russia), A As Architecture, WA wettbewerbe aktuell (Germany), Gallery Online (Iran), Format (Canada), Basic Decor Design (Russia), Architexturez (New Delhi), Promote Design (Italy), Mreža za izgradnju mira (Bosnia and Herzegovina), Azure Magazine (Canada), Design Boom (Italy), Duth (Greece), The District (Italy), Call For (Netherlands), Architektura Murator (Poland), World Design Contests, infoArchitekta (Poland)


Laka Logo

The host of the ‘Design that Educates Awards’ is Laka Foundation (a nonprofit and nongovernmental organization, EU VAT No. PL6381817438). Contact the organizer at hello@designeducates.com. Official website of the awards: www.designeducates.com. The program is possible thanks to the kind support of the members of the jury, advisers, participants, partners, media sponsors, and media partners. All registration fees and donations are spent on the further development of the awards. Thank you! © 2019 by Laka Foundation | Design by Ultrabrand

Contact organizerJoin Laka's newsletterFacebookInstagram